Special Diets & Intolerances


Do you have a lactose intolerance, Celiac disease, a food allergy, or other dietary requirements? At the Knotted Cone we understand how some people have to watch what they eat. We encourage customers with specials diets to still visit our truck and we can help you determine what of our desserts are an appropriate choice.

First, we must let you know…

All of our desserts are crafted on shared equipment in our lab that process wheat, milk, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, soy, and other ingredients. While we strive to follow good separation practices, the possibility of cross-contact always exists.

On the truck, we try to avoid cross-contact, but there is always the chance that allergens could mix from our lab & in our gelato counter.  We just want to make sure you’re aware of this possibility and please choose your treat accordingly.

Please make sure to let us know if you do have an allergy when you order, so we can be particularly careful when dishing your dessert.


Dairy Sensitivities & Lactose Intolerant

Gelato recipes all are made with a base of milk & cream. However, Sorbet recipes do not include any dairy and this is a good option if you are sensitive to lactose products. Occasionally, we have dairy free gelato using alternative plant based milk substitutes (oat, almond, coconut, etc.) We will specify these flavors on the menu. 


Gluten Sensitivities

Neither our gelato or sorbet bases include any gluten ingredients. Some recipes, however, may include an inclusion of ingredients that can contain gluten. (Cookie pieces, brownie bits, candies, etc.) Our cones & small decoration wafer cookies do contain gluten, so please make us aware of any sensitivities you may have when ordering.


Egg Sensitivities

Our gelato & sorbet bases do not include egg. In a small selection of our flavors, however, we may include egg such as Tiramisu or custard. Other recipes may have an inclusion of bakery items such as cookie pieces, cake, brownie, etc. and those have egg as an ingredient. If you have any concerns please ask.


Nut Allergies

If you have a life-threatening nut allergy, unfortunately our products may not be a safe option for you to consume. Although we try to reduce cross-contact, we do produce in a facility & sell on a truck that does contains nuts. If you have more of an intolerance, please make us aware and you can always request us to grab a fresh scooping spade.


Vegan Diets

Sorbet recipes will all be vegan unless they contain honey. Our cones are also certified vegan. Occasionally, we have dairy free/vegan recipes using alternative milks (oat, almond, coconut, etc.) We will specify these flavors on the menu. 

We will always try to accommodate to our guests needs, but we kindly ask you inform us of any allergies or intolerances before you order.

Thank You